Friday, August 30, 2019

Thursday, August 29, 2019

Eimac 150T Advert


Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Yet Another 866A Video

This time a time lapse. Very strange not what I expected to see. I was surprised by the flicker rate because in our time they were solid blue. 

Monday, August 26, 2019

Monolithic Tube Power Supply Success!

Chris and I have been working on this power supply off and on for a year and a half. There is alot under the hood on this one. The previous power transformer failed but we had this beautiful Kenyon transfomer available. This power supply is stable and runs cool at 940v and 280ma.
 Of course the mercury vapors are 866A but the not so common tubes are the 6D22S which has a 30 second warm up.
 The blue glow is captivating and the westing house meters are stunning.

 I filmed our first startup here.

Now to build the other three chassis for this amplifier 8-)

Sunday, August 25, 2019

Freed MEGOHMMETER Test equipment.

My friend Chris brought over another piece of cool test equipment. This is not just an ohm meter but a MEGOHMMETER!!!!! Great googlie mooglie!! I've been honing my DIY skills repairing old test equipment. We have been through a stack of Sound Technology test gear. Next on the list may be a few old scopes. Not sure when we will get to this one but it sure is cool.
 



Friday, August 23, 2019

Wednesday, August 21, 2019

1931 Electrical Catalog Excerpts

 I dig the early audio catalogues.,








Monday, August 19, 2019

Friday, August 16, 2019

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Monday, August 12, 2019

Sunday, August 11, 2019

Monolithic Power Supply - Where There Is Smoke There Is Smoke

Chris and I have beeen working on this power supply off and on for a while. We are almost there and today we let her rip two 6D22S and two 866A tubes. It weighs almost 90lbs. Sadly the vintage ginormous power transformer started smoking and even stranger the 866A insulators were lightning up. If the video plays Look close for smoke and sparks. Fortunately we have a few transformers we can swap. We we were hitting 1kv and around  300ma+. Very fun we definatly went out for beers to celebrate!

Friday, August 9, 2019

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

Vitavox Advert


Tuesday, August 6, 2019

Monday, August 5, 2019

Amperex GZ34


Friday, August 2, 2019

Thursday, August 1, 2019