Sunday, March 18, 2018


Friday, March 16, 2018

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Brook 12A Clones Completed

I finally finished my Brook 12A clone build. The looks are early radio amplifier inspired and the build is pretty close to the original Brook. The only changes are much larger chassis, more modern grounding scheme, shielded input and feedback cables.
Changes? I think I am going to finish the bottom boards to match the top and call it done.
Now I need a few pairs of 2A3's or at least two more of the same brand. I've got a pair of sovtek and EH. Ultimately I'd like a quad of JJ's.

There were a few bumps along the way. It was not behaving well at all on first light but Chris helped me chase the gremlins away.

This is of the new happy amp.

One more check up and they go to the big speakers. 

Lessons learned:
Use real hardwood not plywood.
Don't wrap metal chassis in wood.
Don't trust Sams Photofact.
Wear pants while soldering.
Wear pants!

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Monday, March 12, 2018

All About the Reflex Enclosure - Part 1 - P.G.A.H. Voigt

This is part 1 of a series by Voigt. 
Part 1 development, air resonance, air motion in the enclosure. 

Friday, March 9, 2018

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Monday, March 5, 2018

A Box For Your Speaker - P.G.A.H. Voigt

Every Monday for the next Month or so I am going to post an article in a series by the legendary Voigt. The start is January 1959. Voigt is one of my favorite names in audio history and I can't wait to read the rest of them.

Friday, March 2, 2018

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Knight Kits Advert

I have a few Knight Kit amplifiers. I must admit I did not know they were  Allied products. Nice gear for the day.